cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mandatory CDs

I kind of ripped this idea from Laura's website. But yeah, here's a list of CD's that influenced my life. They're in no particular order.

Alanis Morissette - Jagged Little Pill: This is really the only album of hers I like. I guess I just like that whole radio-friendly vibe and every song on this CD could have been a single. She put a lot of energy into this CD and I think that's why it did as good as it did.

Red Hot Chili Peppers - BloodSugarSexMagick: There was a lot of variety on this one and it had this whole depressing vibe that I've never heard again on any CD. It was very distinct. Even the happy songs were kind of depressing to me for some reason. It also was a good rebellious album for me, considering the content and my age first getting it.

Hole - Live Through This: This one had a lot of anger on it. You could tell that Courtney was totally coked up on this album, though. It's kind of sad. It's definetely the only Hole album I've ever really liked.

No Doubt - Tragic Kingdom: This album was another one that changed the world. They were my first band crush that I let consume most of my life. Plus it was just a happy CD and it made me feel good.

Marvelous 3 - ReadySexGo: Probably the best album I've ever bought. This album is fun to sing at the top of your lungs, no matter what you're doing. Be it at a Thrashers game when "Sugarbuzz" comes on the PA, or when you're just driving around town. There was so much rock power on this album, it puts to shame almost any other CD I've ever owned. It's so sweet it'll give you a tooth ache.

Injected - Burn It Black: The first in my series of metal. This album was heavy, yet still completely melodic. I can never get over the guitar work on this CD. Jade and D. Grady both added something to their music that hasn't been seen in a really long time in rock music: guitar solos.

Splender - To Whom It May Concern: It's amazing how awesome this album is. I didn't think there'd be too many albums that could follow up their first album, but this one smoked the first one. Tons of melody and good guitar work. It's fun to sing along with too, so it's got all the ingredients for an awesome CD.

Sublime - Sublime: This was my first venture into reggae, and it stuck. It was a good CD to relax to and it was also very cool to sing to. It didn't surprise me that Sublime got the fanbase that they did. It's too bad Bradley died during the recording of this album, because there's no telling where Sublime could have went.

Default - The Fallout: Just ask Laur, this is my favorite CD to play on guitar. I love the guitar work and the vocals. It's just a very cool album and the songs are very passionate.

Gin Blossoms - New Miserable Experience: There was a period that this was the only album I listened to, and I wore it out. Great pop rock and awesome guitars. It also had songs about the band's struggle with drinking and I don't think I've ever heard any songs with specific subjects like that that didn't involve losing a girl or anything.

I'll update more later.

8:29 a.m. - 2004-03-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub