cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My trip to two libraries yesterday

I'm going to start putting links in my diary. It's a good project and actually helps my writing and can help me see the same things I had seen when I look back on my entries and revisit the things I was experiencing. I'll only do it when I'm patient enough to do it. The amazon links will go to items I've linked to thru my associate account, so I earn money if I buy them. I'd appreciate if you atleast looked at them and contemplated buying. *Gold Digging*

OK, on to the entry.

Anyways, yesterday Laur and I went to two libraries of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System, which I don't particularly like because it's not in the Pines System, which most avid Georgia Library goers will say is one of the better things that has happened to libraries in Georgia, if not the best thing. Ok, but anyways.

First off, we went to the Northeast/Spruill Oaks Regional Library. It was a nice little place. I only found two books that I liked. First off, The Devil in the Shape of a Woman: Witchcraft in Colonial New England by Carol F. Karlsen. Woo, this entry is starting to feel all Reading Rainbowish. Anyways, I got this book because it looked interesting and I'm interested in why these people were hanged and stuff like that. Also because I'm entirely interested in East Coast History about specific people or small groups of people. I don't like books about objects or events but about people. Like I don't wanna book about the progress of a railroad or something, I just want a book on people and how things effected that person. But, yeah, that's what I'm screaming. I love history when it comes to people. I have to like it, I can't be told what to read because only I like what I read. I only like stuff I can relate to and I like stuff from people who go thru unique situations and problems. Basically, what I'm saying is, I hate reading history except when I want to myself... so yeah I don't like reading suggestions except from close friends. Anyways, on the way out I had seen an interesting book on Confucius, The Wisdom of Confucius by Confucius and Lin Yutang. I was initially drawn to this book because it said Confucius. I wanted to know his real teachings and not just those jokes that go around. I want to know if he's as wise as people claim him to be. The quote on the back of the book, "Someone said, 'What do you think of repaying evil with kindness?' Confucius replied, 'Then what are you going to repay kindness with? Repay kindness with kindness, but repay evil with justice.'", interested me enough to keep the book and bring it home. Should be interesting. I don't know if I'll get around to those two books, because they're due back on 8/13. I might not be able to because I also had got a book a couple hours later from the Alpharetta Branch Library. This library was smaller in size, but it seemed to have more books. The front pane of glass on the lobby had a nice poem some lady had wrote in 99. Anyways, we went here because on the online card catalog at home I found they had a book on Cumberland Island and everyone knows Camden County takes priority in my heart. The book, Robert Stafford of Cumberland Island: Growth of a Planter by Mary Ricketson Bullard, is about a man who experienced life on Cumberland Island in the late 1700's and 1800's. He was never married but had six children with one person. The book is basically a history of life on Cumberland Island. As the back says "Bullard also imparts a wealth of information about cotton farming methods, plantation life and material culture, and the geography and natural history of Cumberland Island." Sounds like fun. Lots of references to St. Marys in there, as the index shows. It's interesting so far and I should enjoy the rest of the book as well. I will make sure to keep you all updated on the progress of the books (if i make any).

Tim

Note: Looking at the pictures of the libraries I can now tell you that the first library we went to was the one with the poem on the pane of glass in front of the library lobby.

12:41 p.m. - 2003-07-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub