cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Review of Dakona, Gin Blossoms, Tonic show

I had an awesome time tonight.

It was supposed to be outside, but since it was rainging htey had it at the Classic Center and there was only about 500 kids there, so we totally didn't even fill up half of hte bottom section but it rocked hard.

Dakona was the first band, their first CD is almost out. I honestly was impressed, they had the music of Our Lady Peace with Bono From U2's sound for a singer. THey had good songs. Their guitarist is good, he's gonna explode one of these days and get really good. You can hear he's just beginning..

So after they left, about a 20 min break preceeded the GIn Blossoms. It actually took longer to get them set up than Tonic, but they came out and man they were good! High Energy. They started with "Hold Me Down" went into "Lost Horizons" then did "Hands are Tied", then a song I don't know (I think, I'm doing this by memory), then "Mrs. RIta".. and they did Allison Road and Day Job and another song I didn't know and Til I Hear It from You and Pieces of the Night made me cry, they did a really slow guitar jam at the end of it, slow and sad... it was beautiful, They did Found Out About you, another song I don't know, Hey Jealousy, and then they finished with "Follow You Down". I was so happy with their set. Robin was like "Does anyone have a cell phone and an ex they'd like to call and I'll sing the song ot them, so for about the last 6 songs he had differnet peoples cell phones in his hand, singing the songs to them. It was cool. My only gripe is the missing "As Long As It Matters" and "Until I Fall Away". But overall, man, they rocked hard. Robin was like "Hey. Chris? I don't know who you are or what you did to hurt your girlfriend. This is Robin for the Gin BLossoms and I'm going to sing this song to you." Hehe.

Next up. Tonic.. they played awesome man. I thought it was great when they did "If You Could Only See".. made me cry. They played all the songs I love by them, the ones I don't know by them, and they played a game called "Name that Tune" where they played a lot of covers.. They played Dazed and Confused by Led Zeppelin, Help by The Beatles (I think that's the song), some Rush song, "Jessie's Girl" by Rick Springfield (and he made fun of Rick Springfield... "Did you see the RIck Springfield behind the music? I mean, listen to this.. I had seen the Motley Crue behind the music and that guy Od'ed 3 times, died once, and came back to life... and Rick Sprinfield, the tragedy of his life was falling off a Motobike and breaking his collar bone.. I mean, come on. Boring." Haha. Then they started talking about pot and Led Zeppelin and the black lights and stuff, then they started talking about the most commonly used chord progression in rock and roll and he said "Here are some songs with C, G, and D".. then he started playing from the Beginning "Louie, Louie" by the Kingsmen. Haha, then HE played Posion.. And then, he played the Beatles, and then.. He played.. "(Undone) The Sweater Song", That was a good one to see. Weezer rocked back then and it was a good song ot see Tonic do, and then they did Steve Miller Band "The Joker", and did it in a reggae fashion. It wa sreally cool. I think he did anothger one too, but I forget. Then they did "If You Could Only See" and then the encore break then they came out and notified the audience their time is tight so they cna only play one song, so they played a song I didnt know. Their guitarist was great, though.

I enjoyed the show.

I started crying during "Pieces of the Night" by the Gin Blossoms, and I cried during "You Wanted More" by Tonic enough to the point where some guy had asked me if I was ok, my only excuse was "Im just tired" he replied "I know how that is", even though we all know what the real reason was for the crying and the song. It's like I've learned how to cry recently and I love it.

Tim

12:17 a.m. - 2003-04-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub