cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my first day at work and I liked it

Never has time moved so slow. Just lying in bed for 3 hours or so. I couldn't sleep, but I got my rest and I'm fine now. I worked for 3 hours too. It was tough. I was in charge of vegetables today. I was a very slow and messy person, which in most things isn't good. That's probably only good in sex. Anyways, the girls working with me were EXTREMELY patient with me. I mean, it's helped a lot. I mean I told them a couple of times "look I'm sorry I'm having a rough time." and they're all like "No, you'll get it." I work with all females, I think I'm the only guy working at the NEX store. But, anyways, I just was slow. It's hard to make those little fuckers. Onions, Lettuce, Tomatos, Pickles, Cucumbers, Black Olives, Bell Peppers, Banana Peppers, Jalapeno Peppers. They're supposed to go on in that order, right, with whatever they choose? So what happens when they say things one or two at a time, and the stuff is at the end of the order of the veggies, and then they say stuff at the begginning of the order after you've already put on the first stuff. It's frustrating to say the least. Doing the sauces sucks too. I just don't like how I'm so messy with it all. The worst, though, is wrapping the fucking sandwhich. That was my job today. I just was no good at it. She could show me a thousand times and I still couldn't get it. I think I did one sandwhich the right way, and everything else was just kinda done ghetto-fashioned. But you know what, I love this job. I really love it. It's tough, right? But it's a good tough. The walking home part sucks, but that should get resolved. I think my job performance will improve too. I just hope my hours aren't cut before then. My manager for that shift called me in the back at about 1 and I thought I had completely messed something up, and she was just asking me if I had gotten some packets yesterday when I was interviewed, and I hadn't. She said those probably would have helped me. I told her I know I was bad today, and she said she completely understands about how it is on the first day and that I will get better. She told me I could get my free 6 inch sandwhich for my 4 hours of work and that made me a happy kinda guy. It's too bad I could only finish half of it, I was wiped from all the learning. Imagine that, starving me only able to eat half of a 6 inch sandwhich. It was only ham and cheese too.

All in all, I think if they don't give up on me I could really enjoy this job. I really didn't like working making about $16 before taxes only today, though. I need more hours. I mean, I wouldn't mind that, I just don't want to walk home. I'll have more hours, though. I have to go in at Saturday at 8, but I don't know what time I'm being let loose, but I'm expecting around noon.

The best advice I had gotten all day was "when there's a lot of people, don't look at the end of the line" and it made sense too. I can't explain it. I guess it kind of hurts you mentally when you see a line.

Tim

6:07 p.m. - 2003-02-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub