cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Music, Being Different

Hello again,
I've been searching through other diaries, found some interesting stuff. A lot of people have different views than I, that's fucking beautiful man. It's great to know that we aren't a boring species. This all ties in with my previous entry, if you think about it. I'm venturing into the ideas of being an individual. I used a lot of sarcasm in the last entry, but for the most part, the overall attitude of the entry is how I felt about a lot of people.

Someone once told me they thought rock and roll had died. Well, of course it hasn't. Maybe in the mainstream it has lost all its passion. It's been there for a lot of artists all along, though, even for Lenny Kravitz - and he's mainstream. There is so much going on under the mainstream in terms of rock and roll it takes someone who doesn't look at anything but the mainstream to say something like that. That's just my opinion, though.

In My last entry I had mentioned that you should look at stuff other than what your friends and MTV tell you about. That's only a guideline, though. A lot of times your friends and (hate to say it) even MTV can bring you new sources of great music. Just find some stuff for yourself at times, though.

Lets talk more about Lenny Kravitz. He's an awesome performer. You can hear the soul and passion in his voice, no matter if he's doing his funk, soul, rock, or r&b. That's what makes him a rock star. He's passionate and he sticks to what he wants to do.

Another rock star, Butch Walker of the Marvelous 3, the biggest rock star I know (atleast in my definition of a rock star), has said in the past he likes Lenny Kravitz alot. They have nothing in common, other than they play with passion. Let your ears guide you, no matter how you find out about music. Do your own thinking. If you like whats in the mainstream, reach out and grab it. If you like whats in the underground, grab it. Just don't listen to something because everyone else is listening to it. I mean, quite a few rock stars have made it on MTV. Bon Jovi (!!), SR-71 (believe it or not), Stroke 9, Collective Soul, Lenny Kravitz, and Buckcherry just to name a few in my opinion. Just go with the flow. A good way to find out about new acts is by looking in the Thank You section of your favorite CDs. That's enough of my mindless chitchat.
Later,
Tim

PS: BE YOURSELF!!! The mainstream can be ok if you like the acts in the mainstream. Just don't like the acts because your friends do (AGAIN, I love making this point). Don't ignore the underground, though. Don't listen to bands in the underground because your friends do. That'll only lead you to like bands that are underground but will only become mainstream. EITHER WAY, if you SERIOUSLY like what your friends like, on first listen, then go for it. It's your life. Just realize that a lot of people have it in their subconscience to like something automatically just because they're friends do.

10:17 a.m. - 2001-06-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub