cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

work, life, Princess

Well, we have the new uniforms at work. They're the red ones. So I have to start wearing those on Monday. I also had to do this "Right Price, Right Now." training. It's something Krogers doing on the top 200 brands. Like 18000 items. Basically we're lowering prices every day to compete with Wal-Mart (even though I don't think Kroger needs to, Wal-Mart seems to be killing themselves much as it is) and other supermarket chains. The prices are gonna be marked by blue tags, and they're gonna be prices like $1.02, fifty cents. Stuff like that. Basically you won't see as many products ending in 9, because Krogers trying to shave some cents off of items. The problem, though, is that even though one particular type of item from a brand might be fifty cents, the same type in a different flavor might be 80 cents. Oh I see customer complaints coming up. For example, Big K Regular Cola might be fifty cents, but Big K Diet Cola might be eighty. But basically, they're still lowering a lot of prices.. so in the long run it's good. I was also informed today that milk is going to be going up more often. You know how milk goes up every once in awhile. Now it's going to go up (or down) more like gas prices. Basically milk and butter fat prices are getting higher, so they have to compensate for that. Whole milk will be more expensive, because there's more fat. 1% will be cheaper than 2% which will be cheaper than Whole. I see a ton of explaining to customers coming up, but I guess it's part of the job. That's pretty much all that happened yesterday. It was a nice day at work. I finally feel like I'm part of a team now. I feel like the people I work with actually care about me. I guess it's a unique feeling for me workwise.

Basically my life has gotten a lot better. I got my GED, my drivers license, a job. I have a wife, and a baby girl on the way. I never thought I'd have so much meaning in my life, so much stuff to live for. I feel like I'm needed in the world from all these different entities. I have responsibilities now. It just makes me happy to see all these things I have to live for. It's made me more energenic with everything in my life. Which is good, because I have a feeling that I'm going to need it really soon. I've heard babies aren't that easy. I'm ready, though. I'm ready to have a child. It'll be new, but I'll be able to handle it. I don't know if I'll be able to handle Laura in all that pain, but atleast it only happens once per pregnancy. And I think this might be her only one.

Oh well, onwards in subject matter. Today Laura's mom came over and brought Princess back from home. Princess is our silver Persian cat. Laura bought her when she first moved into this apartment, and she gave her away when I gave away all my guinea pigs. We didn't have money at the time to support them all. Both of us really missed Princess, and Laura's parents told us that if I got a job and got rid of my last guinea pig, that we could have Princess back. I was getting rid of Billy anyways. It was getting to be too much of a hassle. So once I got a job we made arrangements. We made sure it was honestly alright to take her back, though. I don't think we wanted to seem like jerks just taking her back, but they said it was fine. So we took her back. She's been hissing and growling at us, and hiding. So she's scared and nervous. She'll get used to it, though. Of this I'm sure. I don't think her and Louis will ever get along, though. I didn't even knew cats growled until I put them together. I just can't wait until I can look forward to Princess waking me up like she did before Laura and I got married. Back when I'd never sleep past noon because I'd always be woken up by a cat at my feet meowing at me. Probably saying "Get off your lazy ass." or something to that nature, but yeah.

Oh well, that's about all I have to say for tonight.
Tim

6:04 a.m. - 2004-04-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub