cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

linux from scratch, life.

Well hello.

Sorry I haven't been on my IM clients, lately. I told you the story in my previous entry. The good news is I finally successfully compiled Linux from Scratch. It was a fun little project and it was a great learning experience. I also recompiled the kernel. After I rebooted I figured out how to get DHCP working so my client would automatically look up all the settings, like a cable modem is supposed to do. I then got X to work, which is awesome. I was intimidated at first, but it's working and now I have a graphical desktop. I'm currently downloading KDE. The only thing I'm curious about is getting a framebuffer in there so I can get more lines of text on the screen when I'm using the console. I'm starting to sound pretentious now, so I'll be quiet.

Anyways, I wish someone would email me. I've been really lonely lately. I spent the whole 4-day weekend with Laura and now she went back to work yesterday. I don't know. I just wish I had someone to talk to. I talk to Kate at night. We're becoming good friends again like we used to be. I wish she wasn't Australian, though, coz then she'd be up in the day when I really needed someone to talk to. It's all good, though.

I just can't wait until I get a job, we've started sending my resume out to places. I can't wait to get a job because I feel so guilty and useless doing all these things that I like to do when I'm not doing anything that will REALLY help me in life. Sure, I mean, It's good to have hobbies, but I can't wait to put my hobbies after my actual work. I want to be the type of person who supports his family. That's what I want. When I come home I can play with my daughter and spend time with my wife and develop on my hobbies. That way I'd feel good and not guilty. I don't know, I should go.

LFS ID 12253 (yay! I got my number) signing off-
Tim

10:33 p.m. - 2004-02-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub