cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the bachelor party, the wedding, and the day after

So yeah,

Tim is married. It's nice. The wedding was great. It was nice and small and very touching. We mailed the wedding license off Saturday night, so it's still in the mail slot tonight. Tomorrow morning it's off to the Athens-Clarke County Probate Office. That's all technicalities, though. Let's get back to the good stuff. So the wedding was very beautiful. It was in a nice gazebo overlooking this nice stream with a nice little cascade in it. It had logs over the top of the stream. It was VERY nice. We had candles on the rail of the gazebo. It was awesome. We had a nice champagne in the restaraunt. David made an excellent choice. Speaking of David's choice. He and Victoria made awesome selections. They were basically our whole wedding planners and I think Laura and I both feel greatly in debt to them. I just don't know. They were amazing, and I just wish sometimes that I could be as good a person as they are. I don't know. I've been becoming better. I've felt myself grow. I just hope one day I will have the kind of character that they have to have been willing to do that on such short notice. I don't know. Usually it just is bull when I start to go deep into emotions when I'm saying nice things about people, but what I had said to Laura's parents and to David and Victoria when I was toasting at the table. That's probably the first time I've ever said things like that from the bottom of my heart to express my gratitude to a group of people. I think this is one of the few times I've just been grateful for everything. More than words. I still think there was a lot I could have said. I'm glad Jeremy made it. Shawn was an awesome best man. Rev. Willie Thomas did a really nice job. It was really nervous, of course, but we made it work and I enjoy looking back on it. It'll serve for a lifetime of memories. The night before the wedding (Friday night) we went to this Persian Restaraunt with a belly dancer. That was my toned down bachelor party. I thought it was cool, I enjoyed the food more than anything. I'm weird. Laur went to this comedy show for her bachelorette party. Atleast, thats what I was told. She also went to the cheesecake factory. Then Saturday we had the wedding. It was nervousness all day. I was hidden from Laura all day. I had later learned that because of my choice to have it done like that I had missed Laura and her mom going bowling and shooting pool; my favorites. But, I'm glad I kept up with tradition and I'm especially happy that Laura had fun. I just wish I could have been there. Looking back on everything, I just want to say something in Laura's blog is the most flattering thing I've ever read. She said she realized that I've became her best friend over the past few months when she wasn't with me and she wishes I had been. It makes me feel good, I kinda felt like that too. I wasn't feeling entirely well at the bachelor party. I've been having a lot of stomach aches lately, so I don't honestly know how much I thought about that. I just know I had stomach aches and I was thinking about that a lot. Ok, so onwards. After the wedding we went inside to the restaraunt. Very nice. Mostly everyone got the prime rib. I got the salmon, and I loved it. I loved the spinach. Shawn did his toast and then I did mine. The food was great. Afterwards we cut the cake, and even after telling Laura I wouldn't smoosh it all in her face, I did anyways *evil smile*. I thought it was funny coz she then threw some of her piece at me and it bounced off my head (got it in my hair), and hit Jeremy. *laughs*, I guess that's just Laura's way of welcoming her and Jeremy's new siblinghood. We had a nice red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting. The cake was very beautiful as well, so it went really good with the whole wedding. The whole wedding was awesome. Afterwards we went and dropped Shawn off at the apartment, then we went to the Marriot. David and Victoria got us the honeymoon suite as our wedding present. As if the wedding wasn't enough, they topped it. But yeah, we went there and we checked in. Take in mind the wedding and all this happened on Saturday. Anyways, we checked in, checked out the room for a few minutes (very nice!), and then we went back down 400 and we went and bowled two games. I bowled 80 each of the two games. Despite my low scores, this was probably one the best bowling sessions I've ever done. I was just happy. I was happy because I was married, and on top of that because I got a spare and a strike in each game :D. That's all I ever really aim for, it's not even about score for me. I can bowl a 60 or a 130, but as long as I have my spare and strike I'm happy. Either way, it seems kind of weird going bowling on your wedding night, but it's one of those things Laura and I both love doing, especially with each other. So, you know, it's perfect. I just wanted to be with her. Afterwards we went back to the hotel. We had a nice honeymoon and the room was awesome and comfortable. The next morning (this morning), we came home and got Shawn and then we headed for the zoo. We had a lot of celebrating to do, especially considering I have to leave on Tuesday for Job Corps. I'm leaving my wife, but she'll be with me. I feel bad about it, but it was part of the plan and it's something we all know I need to do, even though no one wants it. It's for the better and it'll make me be able to help support her. Anyway, back to the subject. I found my Splender CD under Laura's car seat. I've been looking for it since the day Shawn came down, so about 5 days. So we listened to that on the way down to the zoo. It's only about 35 minutes, and that's exactly how long it took to get there, just as the last song faded out we were puttin the car in park. So it all worked. The zoo was nice, we found the peacock and I talked to it for awhile. I was just glad to see it. I don't know if I wrote about the peacock in here or not, let me check. Nope. It's a long story. We were at the zoo, Laura and I, a few weeks ago (one of our favorite activities), and they had a peacock walking out in public, and we were in this one area of the zoo and there weren't too many folks there, and this peacock is really shy and cautious, but eventually after Laura and I sitting there for awhile he came up to us, and right as he was right at our feet, these tourists weilding cameras came in and chased the peacock into the woods. I WAS PISSED. I got to see the peacock, today, though. It was hidden in some trees again, I don't even remember how we found it. Other than that, we petted the goats and did just about nothing else. It was a pretty quiet day at the zoo, but it's all good. I enjoyed myself. Afterwards we had went to Cyclorama next door to the zoo, it's basically just a Civil War museum with this room that rotates so you can see this 360 degree painting. I liked it, but I wouldn't go back. After that I wanted to go to a science museum, so we went to this Fernpine or Fernbank place. It's some college. They have a planetarium. They were having a program on Mars today. So we went in there. Shawn, Laura, and I all fell asleep in the planetarium. It was a good planetarium, don't get me wrong. Just the music... jeeze the music was so mellow. It put us all to sleep. It made an hour seem like 30 minutes. I kept waking up every little bit. I think I would have fought the music's trance and stayed awake if I didn't already know all the stuff on Mars. Don't get me wrong, it was all pretty much stuff they don't teach you in school and all that, but I've been researching astronomy a lot in the past few months so it was nothing new to me. The seats were really comfortable. Then we came home and ordered Chinese. It was good. Three Sweet and Sour Meals (one for each of us) and some Crab Rangoon for myself. Afterwards, we went to Media Play and I bought a Woodstock plush. I love Woodstock. I need something Snoopy now. Afterwards we went to see School of Rock. It was an awesome movie, I enjoyed myself a lot. Jack Black rocks. It made me happy. The little 10 year old in the movie is a better guitarist than I am, better than Jack is. It was pretty awesome. We came home then, and I notice now that the Braves have just lost their series to the Cubs. Oh well, I'd rather them have lost to the Cubs than anyone else. But, yeah, we were just having our last fun day together, basically. It was a day to celebrate our wedding and a day to have just a good fun day before I have to leave. We had extra money from a few sources. Basically money that was given to Laura from somebody else that Laura had asked for because she needed to make rent... because of that money not being needed afterall, it ended up sort of a wedding present. I feel so bad, though. Laura's dad payed the wedding and Victory and David took so much of their time. I don't know. I'm entirely grateful. I'm just flattered. I would have been happy with just the rings and a kiss and a signature on the marriage license, but everything else had made this more than a dream come true for me. It's something I could never have imagined. So as we go into tomorrow, Monday, I hope to keep up these high spirits. I hope I never forget the favors of other people in this world. This world is way too good to us all, we're lucky to just be alive. Everything more than the bare minimum is a gift that we should cherish, actually the bare minimum (which is life) is something we should cherish. Everything should be enjoyed. So I've spent a lot of time writing this entry, and I'd like to thank anyone who is still reading it. I told you I'd write about the wedding later. :D... Oh yeah, and most of all I wanna thank Laura. You've made me a very happy guy. I've enjoyed my time with you as my wife so far and for the rest of forever I will as well.

Love you guys,
Tim

10:29 p.m. - 2003-10-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub