cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

more about new guitar.

Hello again.

My new guitar rocks your motherfucking ass. I have a feeling I'm going to be this happy when I have kids too. One of these days I'm going to open up an entry with "My [new] kid rocks your motherfucking ass." That's probably a while away, though. The first thing I did when I got home was plug in my new guitar, straight into the amp and set all the mids, lows, and highs to medium and the presence all the way down. Then I played with the clean tone. It's surprisingly easy to get an acoustic tone out of it, just because of the hollowbody. You just got to pick closer to the bridge while it's going to the amp clean. It feels so very right. It merges into my fingers. I can't explain it. I hit more notes and my fingers don't hurt as much. It felt like the guitar was made for me and my fingers only. The bridge is really weird, the strings wrap around it and under it. To restring it you have to but the string under the bridge, right by the bridge pickup, then wrap it around it and bring it around to tune. My only concern with that is the bridge comes off, just like with my Eppy. It's made to do that, though, because it's easier to adjust. I still have to get coordinated in my mind which knobs do which. There is 1 tone control, 1 master volume, and 1 volume knob for each of the two pickups. The website had that labeled wrong, but it's OK. The guy at the music store was like "yeah, have fun with it." I'm going to have lots of fun with it. This also seems good with distortion too. The Eppy still sounds like it'll be better for hard rock, though. This one is so awesome. This will be my pop/acoustic/non-hard rock playing guitar. The good part about this is labels like guys with Gretsch's because they're a respected, and thought to be professional brand. You can go to Gretsch.com and go to the artist's page for guitarist and see what I mean. Epiphone doesn't even have a list that pretigious. (Although Sugarcult use Epiphones.) One day, it'll be great to have a guitar tech who will know exactly when to come out in the middle of a song and give me my acoustic or my Eppy and take the other one. It's cool to be able to show versitility while showing off! Hehe. The only really noticable flaw I had seen was around the f-hole the lamination seemed to be tarnished or something. Whatever you call it when there's a little tiny bubble you can't iron out. It's not noticable unless you stare at the guitar for a while really really close or you have it pointed out to you really really close. The maple neck and black back of the guitar go really awesome together. I think it was fate I met this guitar. Fate that my favorite live musicians use sparkle hollowbody f-hole guitars, fate that it felt so perfect and different than other guitars on my fingers, and fate that my dad bought it for me, plus fate that it sounds so good and it was so cheap! These things resell, though. They seem to be hard to get out of Georgia. I was monitoring auctions on Ebay yesterday and they went up to $1500. That's crazy. I'm not selling my first (and maybe even the last) perfect guitar I've felt since I started playing 6 years ago. Well I'm going to go.

Tim

2:56 a.m. - 2002-06-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub