cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Values.

Hey Hey.

I write all my important entries in this diary, so here goes.

When I worked at Arbys, it literally changed my life. I adopted the RTM (now ARG) core values as my own. I have made them a habit, thereby including them in everything I do. They've made me a better person, and are helping me in my current job as well. If you ever want to become the best person you can be, follow these core values. I'll write each of them and tell you my opinion and experience with them.

1. Dream Big

Dreaming big is just a goal-setting mindset. If you're content with where you're at in your job, then you should find ways to improve your current job. My Dream Big value so far has always been improve myself to the point where I can get where I want to go in a company. With Arby's I had eventually wanted to get my own store. Now that I'm with Wal-Mart, I'm looking to eventually get into a salaried position, after becoming a department manager, of course. Maybe eventually I'll want my own store, but right now I don't. I think this is a big dream because it'll take years of dedication and effort. Now that I've got a goal, I can work with others to get there.

2. Work Hard

Working hard means never giving up unless you absolutely have to. It means going full steam and impressing people with your potential. Because no one is going to believe you can do a job worth more money if you can't excell at your job at your current rate. It's a matter of taking pride in what you do. Some people like to complain about their money and all that, but I think the only way to make more money is to show you deserve it and you're worth the extra money.

3. Get It Done

Whatever you have to do, do it. Getting results helps you learn how to do things. Never give up on things. It should always be a learning experience and you should always be trying your best.

4. Play Fair

You can NEVER get ahead at another persons expense. Of course, it may seem like you can and did, but if you were against someone just to get where you are, you're not going to be successful because the higher up you get the more respect you have to give. That's a part of supervising people. You always have to show respect, it has to be part of your personality. If you want people to work as hard as you, and you're a manager, you have to show the people that you yourself know what it's like to do what you're asking of them. I remember one time I worked 19 hours one day at Arbys. At the end of the night I had done the thing I do every Friday, which no one asks of me. I scrubbed the lobby floor. One of my employees said I don't make enough to be doing that. Well maybe I don't. But If I don't then who will? You have to be fair and don't make everyone else do work that you usually do.

5. Have Fun

The best jobs in life are the ones where you like the people and you can have fun with them. You can make any job fun if you're willing to try. The positive mindframe makes other people have fun too. It is very possible to have fun and be a hard working individual. And now that I've experienced a workplace like that at Arbys, I won't settle for less. Even if it means I have to make the fun myself.

6. Make A Difference

You should always be making a difference. You want to be oriented towards other people. Support other people and they'll support you. You want to be able to look at your work at the end of the day and be proud of what you've done.

8:39 p.m. - 2006-04-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub