cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i only wish that there was more than that

I'm thinkin bout how amazing Butch's solo acoustic tour was. It seems so long ago, but compared to M3 it wasn't that long ago. But yeah, to remember that tour and to remember the two days Laura and I went to... the two days had a lot of the same audience. And a lot of the audience had seen many more than just those two shows, there were people from New York, and other places from the country. I've even read the story of a guy who used to be all into metal and he'll only pay to see Butch anymore, which is weird yet very reassuring of Butch. Because Butch is nothing like metal, only pop/rock, so it's good to see music is music and can transcend all kinds of things. The show in Athens was so amazing. From the way Butch kicked off his set with "Sober", it was very emotional and he was definetely on. To play the chorus part, doin the littly choppy guitar part.. he went from like a chord on the 10th fret, up to the 1st fret.. stopping at like 5 places in between in like 3 seconds.. almost blindly it seemed, but it made so much sense in the way... it sounded just like the record.. and then on the interlude, when he was just barely hittin the chord when he was crying, like he did for some reason during those shows, "sooner or later...", then hitting the chords louder and louder.. very explosive into the "we've gotta stop this elevator, you go your way and I'll go mine, I'm strong and I'll be fine." It was completely different from the album, yet pretty much the same emotional effect. It was really emotional and it makes me sad that hardly any people will ever experience that, and I don't think I'll ever experience something like that again too. I don't think Butch has any acoustic tours scheduled, but it was amazing... It was the first concert Laur and I went to as well, and there are many reviews of the Athens show I've read, and everyones review of "one day of the time" includes the phrase "the greatest moment in rock and roll". It sounds schmalty to you, but if you were there, you might understand... No amplification, butch unplugs his guitar and basically cries the whole song about his friend who died of cancer, jumpin down into the audience and playing in the middle of everyone. And even though he did it in Atlanta, and every other city on the tour, only Athens stands out in so many people's minds. It was so amazing that night. You could barely hear his guitar, and you could barely hear him... but you could hear his pain and it was pretty touching. I think everyone left on the brink of crying, if not crying. But yeah... memories. I'd do anything to relive that night. To feel what I felt with Laura, to feel what I felt inside. I don't know, to feel what Butch was feeling... it was crazy. It's like he did the sad songs for himself, and the fun songs for us... I don't know. I can't explain, you had to be there. It sounds stupid to say the best moment in rock and roll, but you had to have been there. Note that I've been to three Marvelous 3 shows and three (soon to be four) Butch shows, but only the Athens show could ever be called my favorite. The one at Jack Rabbits (the m3 one, the very first one I went to) is my second favorite, but it wasnt half as amazing as the Athens show, and it was pretty amazing. THey all were.

Tim

6:24 a.m. - 2005-07-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub