cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Work...

So yeah, yesterday I was supposed to be off, but the area supervisor was coming in. I couldn't miss that, so I ran the whole shift myself. Busier than usual hour in our lunch hour. It was mad crazy. My drive thru guy was messing up and sittin there talkin to the customers at the window, holdin a conversation when there's atleast 6 cars behind the person at the window. It was so bad that I ran out of room to place the bags in drive thru. (The shift leader's job during lunch is to get the food to where it goes, which is very difficult and takes a lot of coordination). Im just lucky I have an area supervisor who would say that he knows it wasn't my fault in drive-thru, and that I did really well and my averages were still under our service standard (though 6 of 10 were over). I was still pretty aggrivated because it's important for me to do my job well. With the high school kids it's just extra money, but for me it's my entire lifeforce to excel at my job. Evan said I should coach the kids. I told him I asked him 3 times to hurry up, and that I don't have time in the middle of lunch to sit there and have a conversation and coach him. Evan said he knows I'm just frustrated and I just need practice. He's right. I love my job so much, and I can't imagine myself doing anything else right now. I still love going in every day. But hey, I guess we all have one of those days. I don't know. But Marcus did give me (another) raise, and said I should be getting another pretty soon when I become an official shift manager. So yeah, I'm already making about a dollar more than when I started, which is nice. It's not the raises that helps, though.. it's that he relies on me enough that I actually get more hours. Because if you get a dollar raise, it doesn't make a difference. You could work one more hour on your old shift, and still almost make as much as you did with your raise. I try and get as many hours as I can, and some of the guys at the other stores have wanted me to help. So we'll see. But yeah, life is good at Arby's.

2:01 p.m. - 2005-06-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub