cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

IRC Server

Last night I printed up a copy of RFC 1459. I want to start coding an IRCD. So far, in the first 10 pages I've read of the 51 in all, I've learned more about IRC that I didn't know about for the past 8 years I've been using it. I'm starting to pull together a plan on how I'm going to write the program. I can see now, though, that I'm going to have to do a lot of learning in C++ before I'll be able to do it. It'll use more problem solving than I've ever used in my life. It sounds like a fun little hobby for me. Maybe when I get it all working according to the protocol, I can put out an official release and start having the open source community help with it. I don't wanna look too far down the line, though. I still have to learn C++ first. I also have to learn TCP/IP Programming as well, since that's the protocol it's using.

Tim

6:45 a.m. - 2004-08-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub