cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

in charge, McKenzie, Laura

Work was actually really fun tonight. I think it had a lot to do with Laura coming to work twice! :D. I love seeing my beautiful wifey while I'm at work. And if that's not good enough, I also get to see my beautiful daughter in a matter of hours. I get to hold her and hug her and kiss her and let her lay on my chest and go to sleep. Maybe we'll take a nap together. We used to like doing that a lot. Only I'd just close my eyes and not really sleep. I didn't want her to fall off me while I was sleeping. :S. I'm sure she'd wake me up if she started squriming anyways, but better safe than sorry. But yeah, today I had aisles 5 and 7. Aisle 5 is one of my specialty aisles that I'm given a lot. It consists of cake mixes, cooking oils, spices, sugar, flour, and other baking stuff like that. Aisle 7, not one of my specialties, is cleaning supplies and laundry detergent. I was just happy because I didn't have to do Aisle 4. Aisle 4 is my other specialty, but I can only do it 3 or 4 days in a row before I start wanting to puncture all the juice and gatorade bottles to punish the person who decided I should work in that aisle. Coffee's on that aisle too. And tea and hot chocolate. But yeah.. tonight was a good night. I was the MOD (sixth entry on that page). Basically Jeff and Shawn were off tonight and Bryan didn't come in until midnight, so from 10 until 11 I was the one responsible for the whole store. I know I'm probably playing it up, but it's still cool to think that I was in charge of a WHOLE grocery store for a little bit of time. Ms. Nystrom was there when I got in, telling me about my schedule for next week (working evenings coz Sergio is on vacation). She laughed when I told her I didn't know when the weekend was because I just do my days in order and I get so confused working at night. Anyway, she gave me her key and told me I was the man of the house until Bryan got in. Basically Antonio and I had to get the two new guys to help us break down the truck. We had 4 or 5 pallets in back. Around 10:40 our doorbell rang. (If you don't know, Kroger's truck drivers ring a doorbell that can be heard throughout the whole store)... so I went and got the truck. Bread truck. Bread trucks are awesome coz you don't have to do any work except watch him pull the bread off and count how many stacks we have. Other than that it's just a signature and a "see ya later!". It was fun, and it set me up for a good night that was made even better by Laura coming to see me. So I had awesome fun, and it makes me less nervous about the thought of them wanting to make me a manager eventually. So yeah, it's probably lame of me to be all excited, but I think it's cool I was in charge of the whole store, even if for only an hour.

Tim

4:09 a.m. - 2004-07-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub