cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Entry #1500, overpayed actors

I was thinking...

Now, in no way do I condone downloading complete movies when people do deserve to get paid for the work they do.

Now with that said, I don't like these sympathy ads I've been seeing lately calling for a stop of movie piracy. You know the spots, where they have some guy who is talking about how he's a 3rd assistant scene decorator or whatever and how movie piracy is taking away from his already tiny pay check.

See, that sounds like a decent complaint. Here lies my problem with the whole issue. Why not take away from the millions of dollars the actors are overpayed for each film. Why not do that BEFORE you complain about piracy hurting paychecks. That's just my view on it. I mean, sure an actor is an artist and artists make money, but sometimes enough is enough. That's why I don't like those sympathy ads.

I agree it's not fair for that guy, but I think that if piracy can't be stopped you should consider taking away from the overpayed actors and actresses anyways. They make it seem in those ads that the only way the problem can be solved is their way and no one elses.

As I said, I don't think people should be just stealing their product. So I'm not taking that side, I just don't think it's very logical to imply that the industry is going to have to let these people go because of that problem if it's not fixed.

Tim

6:29 a.m. - 2004-03-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub