cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Foresight owns

OK. My review of the Foresight show. I am not saying this because I'm biased, because honestly I was still thinking they were still just a high school band, but I'm telling you what. Foresight, Melissa's band, owned really hard ass tonight at Jack Rabbits. They were the best band on the bill, no question about it. So good that they got invited back right after they got off stage. Melissa was all being rockstarish, playing her PRS and bending down and stomping her foot. It was really awesome. She is such an amazing guitarist, it surprises me so much. Foresight is defientely a live band. They blend together so much. It's amazing, they're such a beautiful band. It's almost like their music is the epitome of what confusion feels like. You can feel it in all their music... about being confused about what life is for. It's an amazing thing. Chris was an amazing bass player. Kinda quiet, but he has amazing talent. Now, another surprise, Laura was a total party drummer. She was partying hard while playing drums HARD. Mel did the most for me, though, because I'm a guitarist myself. I stared at her hands the whole show, except when she was doing some rock star moves. Really impressive stuff. That song with the flange, Mel, that song was awesome. The third song on your demo. And that new one. Falling In I think it is.. that's an awesome song. Melissa is an amazingly beautiful person as it is (personalitywise, I'm speaking), but when she has a guitar in her hand it takes it to a whole new level. It's so beautiful to see when she is playing this nice clean type of appregiated riff... and she just has her eyes closed. Mel feels what she plays, which is exactly why the whole band is awesome. Laura feels what she plays too, but she's in it for the fun. Mel is in it almost because it seems like she's found her calling, and it's what she feels she has to do to cope with the confusion of the world. It's an amazing thing. I tell you what, I am sold on Foresight right now. Every opportunity I get I'm going to see them. Next up, Grab Bag.. a punk band, they sucked. All I need to say. Next up, EMA (I think), really dark music.. too much bass.. 2-piece band. Very experimental. I asked the lead singer after the show if that was the way they were supposed to sound, and he said no.. I kinda figured. His noise gate broke or was malfunctioning and none of the highs were getting through, hence the bassiness. He told me what his band was about, about freedom of thought. Very nice guy. I was so not impressed with them because of how it turned out but after talking to him, and him explaining the situation I've made it a point to see them in Waycross next month. Everyone deserves a second chance. Ok, here's something original.. fourth band. The Bojacks. They weren't even really that good. The lead singer had soem guys sweaty sock on over the microphone. It was amusing. They played punk with solos first.. and he played the "Whole Lotta Love" solo by Zeppelin in one song. I thought it was cool, even if completely sloppy. Oddly enough, as their set went on it got really bluesy. He even said "Swampy Blues". It wasn't very passionate, but it had that southern feel. To see a punk/blues band... well, yeah it's unique. Anyways. Yeah, that was my night. It rocked. I want to write more about Foresight. Everything from the solo in "Falling Away", to the neat little wah-wah flange type of thing on the fills on "Ode to the Amp", down to the harmonics on "Apart". Dude, I'm so impressed right now. I feel a part of something right now. And no one can take this away from me. I was into this band from the EARLY days. They will have their day when they are known. It's coming, they deserve it.

Tim

1:18 a.m. - 2003-02-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub