cuke15's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Concert Review...

Ok.. here's my concert review.. let me start it with a joke Toucher made when Default came into the 99x studio... "what do you do for fun on the road?" "we've got these little scooters" "scooters? come on man.. thats third eye blind stuff.. thats what pussies use". ahhahah. Ok, anyways.. here we go..

Trik Turner.. god, just as I suspected... they fucking sucked live... he said "fuck" and "in the house" more times than fred durst does. I'm not shitting you. They had a drummer, a bass player, two guitarists, and two singers.. it was a fucking mess... Over doing it. Yeah.. so anyways.. up next was Injected.. and I'm not going to lie to you.. The first couple songs (When She Comes and Burn It Black) were good.. but after that.. in my opinion, it just kind of started to fall apart. Jade wasn't playing.. so I know that's probably why. They aren't that great as a 3-piece... so yeah.. On "Live Wire" Dave from Default came out and so did Slug OF THE MARVELOUS 3!#%#!% YAY!! He was sitting behind the drum set next to Chris.. and when the cowbell part came in they both hit it.... I think Slug is really shy.. He just sat there playing the cow bell. DGrady gave him props after the song anyways... They weren't bad..don't get me wrong.. but they were about just as good as most signed artists.. Jade just gives them the extra push and the magic and shit. Butch wasn't around.. I don't think. He probably didn't feel like coming out, but I was told he was there. Yeah, then the big surprise of the night: Default fucking owned ass. I'm fucking serious. I'm against everything that sounds like a Pearl Jam rip.. but live, my god.. what the hell. THEY DESERVE to be TOURING WITH INJECTED. They covered Led Zeppelin's "Heartbreaker" it owned. This is definetely a show Leo & I would talk about for a while. Default was heavy and loud. It's too bad I was a bit down about how Injected was.. I was up in the balconies the time Default came out. I just sat there observing people. There was this one guy.. and he was such a spaz and a nerd.. but he had this decent girl hanging all over him.. I don't know.. who knows. I'm not saying anything against the guy.. I just don't understand it. It's not my place to. Hehe. Yeah.. and I had looked around and had seen all types of people. I've never done that at a concert until now. Anyways.. yeah Default was good. Their guitarist was heavy as hell and played with passion AND knew when to be flashy and WHEN TO STEP BACK. They definetely were the best band on the show. When they did "Heartbreaker" it owned me. I thought "Deny" sorta sucked live.. I thought the same of that other single.. "Wasting my Time".. and the one they used on the Spiderman soundtrack.. so the last 3 songs just weren't as good..but damn, the rest of their set made me cream.. and I didn't even know most of the songs.. "Heartbreaker" was so awesome too.. It was their first time playing it too. The venue was huge, but the folks I were talking to kept telling me it was pretty small for a place in Atlanta. I don't know. It's a decent sized venue.. Had more of a club atmosphere than a theater one. I got myself an Injected t-shirt. Hahha.. and before the show there were these people walking around with cellphones sending text messages to Default.. for a contest.. and these guys typed in "Go back to Canada, eh?" and sent it to them. Haha. I know, it's cruel.. but it was funny at the time. Those guys were very cool.. They knocked Butch though.. so obviously they weren't all there.. but they did know their music. I think they just like straight forward rock with no glam. Hehe. Between Injected & Default I thought of Jan.. I wished she was there because there were a lot of couples there and I just wanted someone to hold onto. Blah. On the way home I thought of Julie.. I wish we had gotten to see each other.. but oh well. We'll see each other eventually. We're too good of friends to let another opportunity slip by. She's doing better, though.. but still too fragile for a show. I think that's what she told me. I stood in her spot against the back wall when Trik Turner started playing.. she usually stands there when she goes to the Roxy.. You're wrong, though, Julie.. there are bad seats in that place... hehe.. The balcony felt ok, temperature wise.. A/C felt like it was going thru.. but if you sat far back.. you could only see the railing and like the heads of the bands playing. Oh well. It was better on the floor. So yeah.. good night.. Default more than made up for Injected's set (which was still good, just not as good as usual!) and Trik Turner's set.

Tim

PS: "We're Injected and I think you know where the fuck we're from!" *starts When She Comes*

My ears have already stopped ringing, they rang midly for about an hour.. and both Injected and Default were loud as hell.. so obviously I'm ruining my ears or I'm getting used to the live shows.. or whatever.

1:05 a.m. - 2002-08-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

temporaldoom
daisychain3
xdamagedx
cherub